Food prepared by Non-Muslims
The Dietary Shari‘ah
Question asked by .
Answered by Dr Khalid Zaheer

span lang="EN-GB">Does Islam prohibit eating food or tea, coffee, etc. prepared by non-Muslims that are not the People of the Book (Jews and Christians)?

Answer: Answer: Islam prohibits only what is haram. Other than that, everything is halal, though in some cases, certain items may fall in the grey area between halal and haram. It is immaterial if a halal item is made for, or served to you by a Muslim, Christian, Jew, Hindu or anyone else. The Qur’anic verse, which permits to eat the food of bani isra’il, is not making permissible something that was haram; it is only telling Muslims to avail themselves of a possibility, if they desired, which was already there. A similar permission was given in the Qur’an to Muslim men to marry more than one wife. There too, it is not a permission of something that was until then prohibited; it is a mention by way of a reminder of something that was already permitted. The Muslims were only reminded of it.


For Questions on Islam, please use our